Table of Contents
This guide provides a clearer, better-organized overview of Do Merged Drives Lose Data? How to Fix It. It focuses on the essential facts, practical steps, and common questions readers are most likely to have.
To make it more convenient to manage data on the computer, we can divide the hard drive on the computer into many partitions with different capacities. However, in the process of using computers, there will be times when we need to store large data. If you leave the partition intact, there will not be enough storage space, so you need to merge the drive.
However, the situation Of merging drives with lost data Makes many people worried and do not know how to handle it. If you are also having trouble merging drives, please come to this guide.
Why Do Merged Drives Lose Data?
Several ways we can combine drives on a computer. But the vast majority of users will still do it the traditional way, which is accessing Disk management . This method requires us to delete data on the partition before merging the drive. For those who have no experience using computers. This is the main reason why data is lost during the process of merging partitions on the computer.

So Is There Any Way to Avoid Losing Data When Merging Hard Drives?
A seemingly difficult question but actually the answer is straightforward. To avoid losing data when merging hard drives, the best way is to back up data before merging the hard drive. Specifically, you can use the Copy paste Command to move data to a partition that you did not merge. Now all your important data will be retained after merging the hard drive.
Instructions on How to Merge Hard Drives Without Losing Data in Windows 11
Above, I briefly introduced how to merge hard drives without losing data. Below, I will give you detailed instructions on how to do this on Windows 11. Basically, the steps are very simple so I'm sure you can do it.
Implementation Steps
- Step 1 : Copy data to the partition that you did not merge. For example, if I want to merge drive D into drive C. Now I will copy data from drive C to drive D or from drive D to drive E.
- Step 2 : After copying the data, open The file explorer On your computer. Then right-select This PC Item and select Show more options and select manage When the options panel appears.
- Step 3 : When the Computer management window appears, select Disk management .
- Step 4 : At Disk management, you can merge hard drives on your computer. However, note that you can only combine hard drives that are located next to each other. For example, you can only merge drive D into drive C or drive E into drive D but you will not be able to merge drive E into drive C.
Next Steps
- Step 5 : Right-select the hard drive you want to merge and select Delete Volume. (in the example, I merged drive E into drive F). When the confirmation message appears, select Yes .

- Step 6 : After deleting, the partition will turn black. Next, right-select the partition next to it and select Extend Volume. (in the example, next to drive E is drive F).
- Step 7 : Select Next , then set the capacity parameters you want to combine. In the example, if you want to merge all the space from drive E into drive F, you can select next again. If you want to merge 100Gb from drive E to drive F, you will enter 102400 Mb in the empty box and select next.

- Step 8 : In the next step, select Finish. At this point, the hard drive merging process is basically completed.
- B9 : In the example, I only merged a part of drive E. So I need to right-select drive E, select New Simple Volume. .

- Step 10 : Finally, select Next Continuously and then choose Finish To complete activating drive E.
And above are the causes and solutions for losing data when merging drives. Now try merging the data under the instructions in this guide to see if it's successful or not. Thanks for watching.
FAQ
What is the main point of Do Merged Drives Lose Data? How to Fix It?
To make it more convenient to manage data on the computer, we can divide the hard drive on the computer into many partitions with different capacities.
Why might the details change over time?
Software versions, prices, policies, services, and product availability can change. Check the official source before making a purchase or changing important settings.
How can I use this information safely?
Follow official instructions, verify downloads and claims, back up important data, and avoid sharing passwords or sensitive account information.
Reader Comments 0
Sign in with email or Google to join the discussion.