Explain the rule 30-30-30 when resetting the router

Technology enthusiasts have developed a so-called 30-30-30 rule when the hard reset router helps bring any router back to its original default settings.

The Broadband router used for home networks has a very small reset button located on the back or bottom of the device. This button allows you to override the device's current status and restore to the default settings.

People often wonder why pressing the router's reset button for a second or two doesn't work. Depending on the type of router and its current state (including all possible problems), this button may need to be kept longer.

What is the principle of 30-30-30 when the Hard Reset Router takes place?

Follow these three simple steps to perform a factory reset on the router:

  1. When the router is plugged in and powered on, hold the reset button for 30 seconds.
  2. While still holding the button, unplug the router from the power source for another 30 seconds. You can do this by unplugging the power cord or unplugging the power cable.
  3. Still holding the button, turn on the power and hold for another 30 seconds.
  4. After completing this 90-second process, your router will be restored to its original default state.

Note that some routers may not require the entire 30-30-30 process. For example, some routers can sometimes be reset after only 10 seconds and no need to turn off the power.

However, remembering and following this 30-30-30 rule is recommended as a general guide for all devices.

Tip: After the router has been reset, you can log in to it with the default IP address and combine the username / password that was configured for the first time.

Should I choose to restart or reset the router?

Router restart and router reset are two different processes. You must know the difference because some online tutorials say that resetting a router means restarting.

Restarting the router means turning off and restarting all of the device's functions but still preserving all the current settings of the router. Similar to how to restart the computer, just turn off and then the functions will be restored. Routers can be restarted simply by turning off the power or via the console's menus without having to go through the 30-30-30 process.

Resetting the router means that it has just started and changed the router's settings and deleted all the customized configurations that were installed. This means that wireless network settings, DNS server customization, port forwarding settings, etc. are all deleted and the router is restored to its default state.

Although this is obvious, many people still do not think restarting the router can solve network connectivity problems. Restarting your router may be useful in the following situations:

  1. When the control panel for administrators does not respond at the IP address (192.168.1.1 or similar)
  2. When customers suddenly cannot connect to the network (especially Wi-Fi)
  3. After a power outage
  4. To delete the router's DNS buffer
  5. When you do not regularly reset the router for a very long time (one month or more)

Can the router restart or reset too many times?

Like computers, phones and other devices, the home router may fail if restarted too many times. However, modern routers can be restarted or reset thousands of times before encountering problems.

Check the specifications to know the manufacturer's reliability rating if you are worried about the impact of regularly resetting your router.

« PREV
NEXT »