How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Facebook Messenger

Today's TipsMake will show you how to determine whether a person has blocked you on Facebook Messenger or not. Although Facebook hides this information for privacy reasons, you can still tell if someone has blocked your messages through certain errors.[1] X Research source

On your phone or tablet

How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Facebook Messenger Picture 1

Open Facebook Messenger. Look for the blue dialogue box icon with a white lightning bolt, located on the Home screen or in the app drawer (if you're using an Android device).

Blocking messages is not the same as blocking a person on Facebook. When someone blocks your messages, you two are still friends on Facebook and can interact back and forth on each other's timelines. They can also unblock you at any time.

How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Facebook Messenger Picture 2

Type that person's name into the search box at the top of the screen. A list of names matching what you type will appear.

How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Facebook Messenger Picture 3

Tap the person's name in the search results. A conversation with this person will open.

How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Facebook Messenger Picture 4

Enter a message in the text box at the bottom of the chat screen.

How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Facebook Messenger Picture 5

Click the send button with the paper airplane icon. If you receive a pop-up message saying, 'This person isn't available right now,' it means the other person has blocked your message, deactivating your account. of them or block you on Facebook.

If no errors occur, your message is being sent to their inbox. It's possible that this person just hasn't logged in to read news.

How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Facebook Messenger Picture 6

Determine if someone disabled their account or blocked you. If you receive an error message, the final step is to use the Facebook app to find out if their profile is different.

Open Facebook (blue icon with a white 'f' on the Home screen) and search for the person's name. If you can't find their profile, they may have disabled their account or blocked you. If this person's profile still appears normally, it means they just blocked your messages.

If you can't find that person's profile, there's only one way to know if you've been blocked—ask a mutual friend to look at the other person's profile. If a mutual friend can see this person's profile and you can't, it means you've been completely blocked by that user.

On the computer

How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Facebook Messenger Picture 7

Navigate to https://www.messenger.com . You can use any web browser to access Facebook Messenger on your computer.

Blocking messages is not the same as blocking a person on Facebook. When someone blocks your messages, you two are still friends on Facebook and can interact back and forth on each other's timelines. They can also unblock you at any time.

How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Facebook Messenger Picture 8

Sign in to your account. If you're already signed in, you'll see a list of recent conversations. Otherwise, click Continue as 'your name' or enter your login information when prompted.

How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Facebook Messenger Picture 9

Type that person's name into the search box in the upper left corner of the screen. As you type, a list of contacts will appear.

How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Facebook Messenger Picture 10

Click the person's name in the search results. A conversation with this person will open.

How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Facebook Messenger Picture 11

Enter a message in the text box at the bottom of the screen.

How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Facebook Messenger Picture 12

Click ↵ Entergood ⏎ Return. If a message appears in the chat box (where you just typed) with the content 'This person isn't available right now,' there are three cases: the other person has blocked your message. you, disable their account or block you on Facebook.

If no errors occur, your message is being sent to their inbox. It's possible that this person just hasn't logged in to read news.

How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Facebook Messenger Picture 13

Determine if someone disabled their account or blocked you. If you receive an error message, the final step is to find out if their profile is different.

Log in to https://www.facebook.com, then find that person's profile. If you can't find their profile, they may have disabled their account or blocked you. If this person's profile still appears normally, it means they just blocked your messages.

If you can't find that person's profile, there's only one way to know if you've been blocked—ask a mutual friend to look at the other person's profile. If a mutual friend can see this person's profile and you can't, it means you've been completely blocked by that user.

« PREV POST
NEXT POST »