Table of Contents
How to Stop Videos Automatically Played in the YouTube Application covers the essential facts behind the topic, including what changed, why it mattered, and how it affected users.
This feature is similar to when you hover over a YouTube video thumbnail in the browser and it will repeat in seconds. However, on the phone, it will continue to run and add closed caption.
Although some users like it, this is a useful way to preview the video and decide whether to watch it or not, but here are some of its drawbacks:
- Use up your mobile data if you don't set up using Wifi network only.
See also: How to set up Wifi network priority mode on Android and iPhone
- If you decide to watch the video, you'll have to go back to the beginning of it to watch it with sound.
- It may drain your battery.
- And the most remarkable thing is that if you watch too long (standard YouTube watch time over 10 seconds), the video will be added to your viewing history.
How to Stop Videos Automatically Played in the YouTube Application

Turning off the feature or setting it up to use Wifi only is easy:
Step 1: Click on your profile picture in the top right corner.
Step 2: Click Settings> Autoplay> Autoplay on Home.
Step 3: You can select Off to auto-play video or Wi-Fi only to ensure that it does not "eat" your mobile data.
I wish you all success!
- How to search YouTube videos without stopping the video playing
- How to play YouTube videos automatically on Android and iPhone phones
- 11 ways to download videos on YouTube quickly and simply
FAQ
How does Stop automatically playing videos on YouTube application work?
How to Stop Videos Automatically Played in the YouTube Application covers the essential facts behind the topic, including what changed, why it mattered, and how it affected users.
What should you prepare before using this method?
This feature is similar to when you hover over a YouTube video thumbnail in the browser and it will repeat in seconds.
What should you do if the process does not work as expected?
However, on the phone, it will continue to run and add closed caption.
Reader Comments 0
Sign in with email or Google to join the discussion.