Clear, practical technology insights BSOD Code Lookup · Windows Error Code Lookup · Wi-Fi Troubleshooting · PC Troubleshooting Checklist

Does Facebook Notify When You Take a Screenshot?

Understand Facebook, how it works, key uses, common issues, and practical considerations. Use this clear guide to make informed decisions.

Table of Contents

Or you yourself also want to be notified by Facebook when someone takes a screenshot of your content.

This is a privacy-related issue that many people wonder about. Find out below.

Does Facebook notify when you screenshot a status, photo, video, story or reel?

The answer is NO. Facebook does not notify users when you screenshot their posts, photos, videos, stories or reels. Just like on Instagram, you can take a screenshot of any of the above items without worrying about the system sending a notification to the creator. The same is true for screen video recording operations.

If you're a content creator, you won't receive any notifications when someone screenshots your content. If you're concerned about users unauthorized copying of your content, consider adding a watermark to your images and videos.

Likewise, if you're a content creator, you won't receive any notifications when someone screenshots your content. In case you're worried about someone illegally copying your content, consider adding a watermark to an image or video before posting.

Does Facebook send a notification to take screenshots of self-deleting messages?

There's one exception to this: Messenger (Facebook) will send a notification if you take a screenshot of a disappearing message.

Self-deleting messages, as the name suggests, are messages that are automatically deleted after a specified period of time. This is a built-in feature in the Facebook Messenger app that you can apply to any of your chats. In these chats, if either party takes a screenshot of the message, both will receive a notification.

 

Does Facebook notify when you take a screenshot? Picture 1

The reason Facebook does this is because self-deleting messages disappear after the specified time period for security purposes. When someone in the chat takes a screenshot, this is against the purpose of the self-deleting message feature.

Discussion

Reader Comments 0

Sign in with email or Google to join the discussion.